Busy body

January 25, 2011

My schedule got completely rearranged and saturated by school work. It’s taken me about a week to reacclimate myself but I’m back now! Tomorrow I plan on posting my experiment with veganized spumoni but for now I will share an anecdote.

Seeing as I was completely exhausted from my new schedule I didn’t have time to do much in terms of socializing and I didn’t get to drive down to visit my parents this week like I usually do. To solve two problems at once my parents drove up with some of my text books and my mother and I went grocery shopping. After picking up Silk Coconut milk  (which I hadn’t tried yet but I have since found to be more to my liking than So Delicious coconut milk) and placing it into the cart she looked at me with surprise.  “Really, you’re getting coconut milk? How can you stand that stuff anymore?” I had no clue what she was talking about.

Apparently when I was a child and we were stationed on an island in the pacific  for  four years we never had milk or butter. It was all coconut milk and oil. I was definitely old enough at the time to remember this but I really don’t think I ever made the distinction.  In any case it seems sillier to go back to milk after such a long time without it than it does to get sick of the coconut.

2 Responses to “Busy body”

  1. Felicia Says:

    How interesting that you lived on an island in the Pacific at one time while you were growing up. Do you remember much else about it?

    I tasted the Silk coconut milk, and it tastes like a watered down version of canned coconut milk to me. So it might be really good as a lower fat alternative to canned coconut milk in recipes. But as far as a milk substitute goes, our whole vegan family is stuck on So Delicious, precisely because it doesn’t taste overly coconutty, and makes the perfect substitute for cow’s milk in all of our everyday needs. And their coconut milk creamer? Just this side of heaven!

    • eagervegan Says:

      I remember quite a few things about it actually. The thing I miss the most is probably the camping on the beach, followed closely by exploring the ruins scattered around the island. I can vividly remember having a lunch trip with my youth center to an old church and watching dolphins swimming beyond the cliffs. It was a place that afforded a lot of natural exploration because there just wasn’t much else to do!

      As far as the Silk coconut milk goes, that’s probably why I like it so much! It is definitely a strong flavor and on the sweet side, but it goes great with cereal or mixed with rice which is generally where I use milk. I’ll have to use it in a curry to see how it stands up.

      I’ve been meaning to try the So Delicious cultured milk as an alternative to kefir. Have you tried it yet?


Leave a Reply

