Breakthrough

January 10, 2011

Today was the first day I was able to get over my anxieties about asking for something vegan in an obviously non vegan restaurant.   Of course going to a place with obvious vegan options would have been my preference but I’m discovering that sometimes that isn’t possible. In this case I was invited to brunch by my parents who have accepted me as a vegetarian but still have a lot of hangups over veganism, and just plain refuse many of the healthier breakfast options.

 

We managed to settle on a place close by that was family owned. (at least that way we were supporting a small business) I meekly asked the waitress if there were any vegan options, figuring that this would be a better approach than pouring myself over the menu and doing a bunch of guesswork I’d have to clarify anyway. To my surprise the kitchen was more than happy to make me something off menu and did not charge an arm and a leg for it. Who knew? Certainly not me.

 

So what I ended up with here is kind of interesting.  Avocado, beets, hummus, salad, and a medley of pinto beans and roasted peppers.  Certainly not a combination that I would have thought to do but definitely well balanced nutritionally. A good amount of healthy fats, fiber, protein, and great color to the vegetables. Honestly the best part of the entire thing were the tomatoes in the salad which were extremely fresh and just the right amount of sweet.

Leave a Reply

